"Omnium rerum principia parva sunt"
- Cicero (Marcus Tullius Cicero)

"The beginnings of all things are small."

My best friend taught 2 sections of Latin in the room-
Next door to my all-English classroom.

I guess I nabbed a few life lessons-
From those ole Roman guys that-
Jan was so fond of quoting and discussing with her students

Cicero certainly believed in the beauty of beginnings.
I picture him nurturing those fledgling ideas-
Pouring forth from his young students.
Building their confidence to grow and seek-
Those larger ideas that make this world a better place.

For some reason, this plant-
Boldly growing beneath the Mesquite tree.

Reminded me of Cicero,
A man with the heart and soul of a teacher.
A man who believed in beginnings.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.