Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Carnival

It’s carnival day in Baildon, so I had the sound of the fun fair and music following me around the valley for most of my walk.

I went out along Moorside, down through the Low Springs pastures to Spring Wood and then a circuit up to the top of the woods before returning home via the Dam and Tong Park. More than I could fit in on a work at home day, which is a good way to use a weekend.

As usual I was recording butterflies along the way, and in roughly descending order of frequency saw: Ringlet (extra), Meadow Brown, Small Heath, Small Skipper, Small White, Speckled Wood, Small Tortoiseshell (main image), Large White, Peacock and my first Gatekeeper of the year. 

Probably the first day this year that I’ve seen 10 species in one day on my patch. A carnival. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.