Gabriels's Road

I would have said that I knew Edinburgh well, having lived there on and off since I was a student in the city and my mother having been brought up there .

However I don't recall having ever seen this road sign before, which is on the railings of Register House, just outside the Cafe Royal.     I was walking past but when I checked the name out,  I was more than ever convinced that I would have remembered the awful origin, if I had ever known it. 

A wider shot is posted as an extra photo, so that those who know Edinburgh can appreciate its placing more clearly.   It also might link  into a happier Edinburgh story today, namely that the capital has just been voted the  "world's best  city to visit" by Time Out so the other extra gives a more conventional  (and sunnier) view, from the other end of George St.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.