Final nails

A follow-up phone call with my former department, as much as to do my due diligence (or go through the motions) as anything else. Came away once more with a sense of despondency. I honestly don’t think I could work in that place again. It is soul destroying: I could feel my will to live being sucked out of me with every sentence. I made an offer to review my travel plans and take the time at a less busy moment, but got the same old roadblocks thrown up in my face. So, I saw the conversation through to the end and said I would think about it.

Even this level of interaction with that place finishes me off for the day. I don’t know why I thought I could hack it any more. I don’t think I can – or should – even contemplate going back. I am still eminently employable, I will get this writing thing out of my bonnet for once and for all and either retire a millionaire or go back and find a job I actually want to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.