Judith's photos

By Judith

When I started my project to photograph all of Frome's Cockey Lamps, I photographed 5 lamps in a road called West End. I missed one out as I could see it was a replica lamp - the base of the lamp standard is plain whereas the real ones have a section that would have opened
.
Then I discovered an online list of lamps on the town council site, and realised that I didn't know which of the 6 lamps in West End related to the 6 listed online. So today I went back to West End to photograph all 6. I discovered that someone (the council?) has stuck numbers on the lamp standards, but rather confusingly, the numbers started with 7. It took me a while to find the extra lamp (not listed online) as it's part way up a private driveway and fairly well buried in a hedge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.