analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Regina Pizzeria. Lumix M4/3 20mm

At the northern end of Harvard Street in Allston, right next to the Mass Pike and the railroad tracks leading westward out of Boston, is a lovely old depot.
For the last ten years or so, the building has housed a branch of Regina Pizzeria.  Some reading reveals that it closed in July 2020, in the midst of the lockdown.  As I have driven by on my daily business, I have noticed a dumpster in the parking lot.  My immediate thought has been that the developers will be coming to knock the building flat, and put up something hideous in its place.  So, on the way home from work this evening, I stopped by to grab a few frames.
The depot was built in the 1880s as the Allston station on the Boston & Albany Railroad Company's line.  Here is a link to its history.  At some point, a retired caboose, that romantic icon of American railwayana, was tacked onto the side of the building to act as an administrative office, by the look of it.  I peered through the dirty glass of the front door and was able to catch a glimpse of the depot's interior.  This is in the Extra.
But, it seems that all is not lost: the old building is to become the new premises of the Great Scott Rock Club, according to WBUR.  Better a rock club than rubble, I say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.