Protective mother

Another bird I'm afraid but it's either that, a flower or an  insect. I mentioned a couple of days ago a female blackbird calling her chick. This is she. The chick is alive and still being fed but I'm not sure what its chances are. It seems not to be flying though it is up off the ground huddled in a shrub. I don't think there's anything I could or should do to help. I'll just keep my fingers crossed for it.

No rogue smoke alarm in the night thank goodness. I slept pretty well. It was beautiful when I awoke but for part of the morning it was quite chilly. No heatwave here. It's just pleasant now for sitting outside.

I seem to have adapted to idleness. I've hardly done anything for days. I moved a few pots around in the garden, to fill in spaces where plants have stopped flowering. That'll tide things over for a while. That's been about the extent of it.

Today's the day I should have been in Edinburgh meeting my four good friends for lunch. We were converging from all the airts and thinking about it it is probably 2018 since we were last able to do that. I've seen them individually of course and, since March 2020, every Tuesday morning on zoom but not all of us together same place same time. Oh well it'll make being together later in the year all the better.

Stay safe and cool if you're in the hot zone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.