Last day

Backblipped for 15/7. Sadly our last day here. I set out for a walk before breakfast as I wanted to find the waterfall and pond which the others had been talking about. First I had a walk down the drive and a little way up the road.  It certainly is a remote place with just the tearoom and a few cottages.  I then walked part way back up the steep hill to the bottom of the gardens and found a track and some steps which lead me to the pretty waterfall.  The pond was behind this and beyond that was a wooden structure with a seat with a view over this lovely area, and an unusual sculpture (collage in extras). I wandered around for a while then walked up the hill at the side of the hall getting back just slightly late.  Cooked breakfast for the last day - very nice too!  We had a morning sing, then coffee. Another sing and then lunch - homemade soup and the most amazing soda bread I have ever tasted!  The chef said I could have the recipe, but I then forgot to collect it! :-( Another sing after lunch and our songs were recorded.  We then went out into the garden to sing around the pond, at which stage we all had word amnesia! Lots of laughter ensued.  We knew the notes though, so many songs sung to “La, La, La”!  A last review inside, and then sadly it was time to depart.  A nice run back through the Dales, and hopefully not long before we can return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.