GrahamMcArthur

By GrahamMcArthur

The Coach Listens

Eddie has been around a long time and he has been coaching at the Friday night come n try sessions for at least 10 years. A generous and gentle man who loves cycling and helping others. Eddie always hangs around and helps out with my session which immediately follows his. On Friday nights I coach the State squad for the Road to Rio Program which is a National Program with the aim of getting new talent to Rio for the next Paralympics.
We have 22 in the squad with athletes who are blind or vision impairment, amputees and cerebral palsy. Ages range form 13 to 30 and they are a delight to coach and a joy to be with.

It always ends up being a late night and tonight was no exception. I had been at the track for 16 hours today and I was feeling a little tired and hungry (which is very unusual for me) and I wanted to go home, but the gang were hyper and wanted to chat, and chat, and so.....

Anyway, it did mean that I could get a blip in for the day and the opportunity to get a candid portrait arose when Eddie was in a deep and meaningful with one of the athletes. Sorry to do this to you, Eddie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.