Texas Life

By txlife

Early Outing

Out early this morning, but was rewarded by a nice dawn view of Dell Diamond. The Diamond is home to the Triple A (minor league) team of the Houston Astros, and is owned by Nolan Ryan. I'm not much of a baseball fan, but do enjoy going to games here - it's inexpensive, the stadium is beautiful and immaculately clean, and the experience is a lot of fun. Plus there's a Salt Lick BBQ on the campus, and the whole shebang is almost within walking distance of my house.

The stadium is also used for concerts and other events, and there's an on-site conference center. This August, Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan, and John Mellencamp are doing a concert at the Diamond, and I may have to go. Willie is of course a Texas, and particularly Austin, legend, and gives a great concert. I wish I had his energy, and he's really getting up there. Bob Dylan, well, he's a legend, too, even if I haven't understood a word he's mumbled since the 60s. John Mellencamp is pretty good, too, though I wouldn't go to see him alone. Well, if it's an evening concert, I should be able to hear it from my front porch, so that's a (much cheaper) option, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.