Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

An action-packed day

Another action packed day with Chamaeleo. I must say, I arranged it well. We had everything - views of the city, an exhibition, My Club, bus ride, duck pond. And I arranged to have all weathers! Yes! We even had hail. Twice. But we also had sunshine and I could have taken my hat off at the duck the pond, it was so warm. I didn't, but I jolly well could have. Just before it hailed again.

The clouds were superb this morning, ideal for a walk up Calton Hill with stunning views all round. From there it was a short stroll to the See Us exhibition, but we could only see part of it as there was an important meeting, with a slideshow, in the other part.

A visit to My Club was a must, then lunch before hopping on a the bus all the way to the duck pond, listening to a rather good conversation between a child and her father about people getting squashed on the road.

We had such a good time at the Duck Pond. Chamaeleo was excited to see little grebes and jackdaws, apparently a rare sight in London. There was also a heron who flew past us, but behind the trees on the island in the middle where Mrs Swan is nesting. The gulls have all gone, as have the geese.

But it was all action! The mallards were having wee stooshies all over the place - mainly where we weren't. The males were chasing each other and chasing the females. There were always three flying around in the classic formation which graces many a wall still (including mine) and splash landing, but never quite where I wanted them. The coots were bullying the moorhens, the tufted ducks were generally minding their own business and I did briefly hear their sweet little call that Chamaeleo loves so much.

From there I staggered home. Too cream crackered to test the new window fandangle, so I will just sit on the sofa with it beside me and stroke it. The windows will have to wait.

Chocolate was needed.

Wine will also be needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.