Aliscotia

By Aliscotia

Experimenting...

I have long admired the photography of Draco (Karen) on blip with her really close up shots of bugs. She uses a full frame Nikon, a Laowa macro and a raynox 250 (clip on magnifier). My friend Justine has bought the Raynox and passed it to me to have a play with it. 
Firstly, even more kudos to Draco, the depth of field is so shallow you have to shoot at a really small aperture, I had to put my ISO up high (much  higher than in this shot) and I can see why Karen uses a ring flash or a flash gun with diffuser to introduce light, freeze movement and allow the small aperture. 
My settings for this bee are all wrong and it's a complete fluke that it paused and allowed me to get its eye sharp. 
Many people buy this attachment to put on a regular zoom lens to give you a macro feel and that will be my next test. I was using it on a 105mm macro and it did allow me to get a little bit closer than the usual minimum focusing distance. 
To see one of Karen's amazing photos using this kit click here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.