Miscellany

Quite a heavy day.

I slept well having missed out on the night before which meant I didn't experience the expected indigestion from having too much curry for my evening meal. I fell fast asleep almost as soon as my head hit the pillow and felt fine by the time I woke up.

The cheapskate University hadn't booked me a breakfast at the hotel, so I packed up and headed out to walk back to the university. A lengthy but pleasant and gentle walk followed by breakfast at Costa. The cheapskates will be getting the bill. Southampton has a scooter scheme but I didn't see many being used... But I thought I would take a picture of the plague….

Second half of the workshop followed by a lecture. Very interesting although I found it hard to concentrate when I got some more expected bad news. I felt powerless. But.... First World problems as I said to Mr A. He sent me a couple of these pictures. The Asiatic lilies on the balcony and some new works opposite.

One of our number was missing this morning because she had her PhD graduation so I snapped her just as I boarded the bus back to the station to head off to Heathrow.

Although complicated with bus, rail, bus the journey was reasonably simple although the bloody ticket barrier ate my ticket so I'll have to find another way of evidencing the cost...

Just before getting on the train, I discovered that apparently the problem is a "missing" document that was delivered months ago. So frustrating. Maybe not all is lost.

Once in Heathrow, I once again had an easy security experience. They have those new scanners where you don't need to take your electrics out of your bag. Once at Heathrow, I established that the electronics shop doesn't have fitbit accessories but it did have a charger I could stand there and use and get my fitbit back to 100%. My last hope is that someone else participating in the meeting at my destination has a similar fitbit. I doubt I'll get one in a shop in my destination as they aren't sold in that country.

Hey ho.

Well having plenty of time here has allowed me to catch up (but not to correct typos which had to wait…). I've got the right adaptor for my destination country, and a new lead to replace the one I knackered yesterday. I've changed into comfortable clothes for the flight and charged up all my devices. I've even managed to finish off one of the four papers that need to be finalised this summer, although that was 90% down to the work of my co-author.

The airport is enptying out as this is one of the last flights to leave. I will see you, dear Blip, on the other side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.