Life at 50mm

By Stevie378

Caggy . . . . .

My best friend's father passed away last night - his name was George Instone, but to all those who knew him he was "Caggy".

Caggy was a fighter - a Royal Navy boxing champion, but he was the archetypal gentle giant - a great man, father, grandfather and friend.

He was a self employed steel fence erector, and gave me & others like me much needed work in the dark days of the 80's, when Thatcher threw so many of us onto the scrap heap. He helped put food on my table, and into the bellies of my wife & kids, when we needed it most.
He put up a long, brave fight against the brain tumour that finally laid him out, but I reckon the tumour cheated - it must have had a horseshoe in its glove to beat such a hard man.

My heart goes out to his family - they've lost a great man.

Rest in peace, Caggy - it was a privilege to have known you .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.