Farewell Terry

Our neighbour passed away after a fairly brief illness, we’ve lived in the same road for over 20 years, whilst we are not especially close as families we have inevitably shared a lot over the years and our children are about the same age. Max and I were honoured to be invited to the wake. It was a beautiful gathering as these occasions often are, Terry‘s eldest daughter Sophie had hired an African drumming band who were absolutely fantastic and gave everyone a chance to dance and express some joy, we were also encouraged to join in on various drums ourselves.
We spent some very special time with his wife Jane and listened to her harrowing account of the last six months, I felt glad I was there to listen and support.
Lots of our other neighbours were there and it was nice to spend time with them too.
The location was lovely, in a local sports club in Bushy park, it was a beautiful evening and we spent quite a lot of time sitting outside chatting.

I watched the funeral earlier on my computer, it was very beautiful and extremely moving. It was in the same room where we had my mother’s funeral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.