fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Thirty Five Year Memory

I was sorting out papers and clutter in a back room...came across a "blast" from my photographic past so to say. Before digital I shot mainly with black and white film using an Olympus OM 1. I had a bare bones funky darkroom and washed prints in what I rigged up in the bathtub. I did mostly people and street scenes and have thousands of old negatives.

I rarely did any wedding stuff but on occasion for my two of my brothers I did. I entered one shot from my middle brother's first wedding into one of The Seattle Sun's photo contest. Big R called excitedly from work (no cell phone those days) that he had opened the Sun and my photo got and honorable mention. Very exciting. Seattle Sun

I stopped doing my own developing, switched to doing more color and had to shoot more from where I spent most of my day---on the school bus. I wish I had continued more with the black and white and street stuff. But then came digital, bad legs and knees I have just found other things easier...but finding this lit up my desire to do some more of black and white with people...once the knees are a go...we shall see...anyhow something you didn't know about me and I'm sharing. Have a grand weekend

See yesterday's Cowboy one! Thursday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.