PRE- SEASON FRIENDLY AT ST JAMES PARK

NEWCASTLE UNITED V ATHLETIC CLUB BILBAO   Kick Off 3pm

I headed to the ground in good time this afternoon as I was sitting in the Gallowgate End - a part of the ground I hadn't sat in before and I didn't know the layout.  Lots more steps than Im used to.  There are no steps to negotiate to get to my usual seat in the East Stand.  St James Park was packed even though this was just a friendly match.  The attendance was almost 47,000.  Lots of singing and flag waving as usual. Good to see some different players getting a game as well as some of the established ones.  The score was Newcastle 2 Bilbao 1.

My collage shows the Away fans high up in the stands, a crowd scene and the two players who scored goals.  Saint-Maximin on the left and Callum Wilson on the right (Joelinton is in the middle ).

After the match I popped into Tesco and Waitrose and then went to catch a bus home.  The queue was enormous - mostly Newcastle fans - and I knew if I joined it I wouldn't get on the bus as it would have been full.  So I had a wander around John Lewis and came out in good time to catch the next bus.  I was one of the first to get on and then it filled up completely - good job it was double decker and no-one was left behind.

The weather today has been hot and humid with not much sunshine. There were even a few spots of rain around 5pm.

I have added an Extra of the lovely sunset this evening

Steps today - 8,788
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.