Too big to fell ?

These trees are at the top of Glendaruel and are a very distinctive feature on the road down into the glen.

I have been thinking about felling because the wee forest above my house will start to be cut this week and it must be almost 40 years old. We have been there for 21 of those years and it will change a bit of our outlook , though it will also let more light into the house.

But these trees are even bigger yet they have not yet been felled. I was told ages ago that there was a problem with access, though I don't know if that was true or not. Close up the woodland doesn't even seem to have been thinned much over the years, so when they do come out it will change the whole look of the place, and also present something of a headache for the harvesters.

PS - 15 minutes after taking this I heard my first cuckoo of spring. Late I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.