Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I drew this on Sunday, it took less than 30 minutes. I did it because the registered trademark for my new employer is unspeakably ugly and I don't think this is, I rather like it.
But today was day one as the new staff member in the office and I wasn't going to lock horns with anyone.
When I came here for interview in May there had been problems with trains, I had arrived late, I had kept them informed regarding my progress and when I finally arrived I was left sitting outside, and at no point did anyone offer me water, use of the lavatory, anything at all. All a bit weird frankly.
Same thing again this morning. I arrived on time for my first day at work and was left sitting outside for a good ten minutes before anyone buzzed me in despite the fact that at least three staff members had passed me on their way in and acknowledged my presence.
There were forms to fill out including every address I have lived at for the last five years and every name I have ever used since the day I was born, and there was a 51 page staff handbook where almost every sentence begins with “Thou shalt not . . .”
There are about five pages of images of staff dress code proving that tattoos and hoodies are unacceptable.
Obviously they are about to embark on a very steep learning curve because all of the above is completely outrageous and unnecessary bollocks.
And when I arrive at work tomorrow I will have to ring the doorbell and sit and wait for someone to let me in because I'm still not quite trusted enough to sit at my desk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.