annhall

By annhall

The Bromeliad Yard of St. Petersburg

We went to the Green Fest Spring Plant sale sponsored by the city of St. Petersburg, FL. Just across the street from the park which was a wonderful site for a plant fair was a house with a great oak tree and the most complete bromeliad yard I have ever seen. The ground was covered with bromeliads and the plants were loving the light level the oak tree provided. There were many plant booths at the festival, but none could compare to the impact of this stellar yard.
I browsed so many booths, but finally succumbed to a wonderfully scented heliotrope (with a beautiful purple color)which I will blip sometime in the future. I have heard of them, but had not ever seen them here before. It likes warm, so I will baby it and see how it does. We live in a warmer part of Bradenton in the Palma Sola Area, and I will plant it in a sheltered location.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.