Another day goes by

By WelshSi

On the way home with a can and a smile

After drawing another kingfisher blank yesterday I decided to get up very early and try my luck when the canal bank was less busy, hoping that would be the best time.

I slowly strolled along the canal bank as I had all the time in the world, i listened to nature as it moved and swayed on the wind. I love watching the squirrels scurry about the virtually bare trees as they play, run and jump around. I walked along the stretch that i was assured there was a kingfisher, confirmed by 2 dog walkers and a workman working under one of the canal bridges. But i couldnt even find a stick with poo on it indicating a bird had been perching on it, I think i must be blind.

I finally reached the end of the stretch and saw nothing that even indicated there was a kingfisher in the area so i decided to cross the road and walk on towards Newport still following the canal. Even though the water level was low there is still enough depth for fish to thrive, its a lovely stretch, a bit rough but natural. This must be the place, i thought to myself. Then came along these guys, I could see them drawing closer and i could see that they had can in there hands. Theres me alone with no one around carrying a few quids worth of camera equipment, i do worry a bit this day and age about being mugged in this situation. But nothing could be further away from the truth. Even though the were still drunk they were very polite, I asked them if they were on there way home which they smiled and said yes. After a very short conversation they asked me to take their photo, how could i refuse, after that we all went our separate ways.

After walking a bit further i stopped and decided that was far enough for today as i had to back track all the way to the car. Just as i reached the end of the additional stretch i was stopped by a dog walker and he asked me what i was looking for, "Kingfishers" I said."Theres loads along here" he said "I see them all the time". "Do you?" i said "AAAAAAAAARRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!" I thought. So my next mission is to walk a bit further down that stretch and see if i can find my elusive Kingfisher.

The other thought is:
Am I blind?
Do i know what a kingfisher really looks like? (Ido)
Do others know what one really looks like?
Are they just trying to wind me up?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.