Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Window cleaning? It's fun!

Chamaeleo has gone off on an blipping/coffee expedition, with phone and map and assurances that 'You can't get lost in Edinburgh'...

Us oldies are taking it easy today. No, actually, it's been a positive hive of activity (on my part, anyway). The new window fandangle was used. The windows have not been functioning as windows for quite some time, especially in the slanting afternoon sun. But the new fandangle, I can pronounce, is wonderful! It's like cutting through a slab of butter with an electric knife. Or how easy I imagine that would be. It's simple, no elbow grease involved, and no streaks left. What a great invention! The only problem was hanging out to do the outsides - I was afraid I'd drop it. A piece of rope will do the trick.

There was only one slight mishap. I was doing the kitchen windows, which involves climbing into the sink, a little more dexterity in the leg department than I have at my disposal, so I'm always careful to hang on to things. On the way back down, I was leaning on the basin of soapy dirty water, and it slipped and tipped over. I was almost down to the step ladder and so it was only a small stumble, but there was a clattering, the sound of splashing water, and a few bad words. Luckily, I had put the new fandangle down, otherwise it would have crash landed.

I was mopping up several minutes later when JR ambled in to enquire what had happened... Huh! I could have been slumped in the said dirty water, concussed, my fandangle done for!

I thoroughly recommend this gadget. It makes window cleaning almost a pleasure. So the windows had to feature today, although I have done this shot before. I liked the red and blue cars matching the red and blue doors. I liked being able to actually see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.