The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Avoiding heavy lifting (backblip)

I spent time morning packing and re-packing for the Green Gathering festival, and going to a big shop to buy a small tent for myself..We set off after lunch for the nearby town of Stonehouse, where I was due to give blood. I'd had to cancel in March after I got badly bitten by a child, so I was determined to do it this time. Almost failed the 'sinking  blood drop'  test, but the hi-tech machine said my haemoglobin level was ok. Relief! I'd forgotten that one is supposed to take it easy for the rest of the day: no heavy lifting, no going camping...

 CleanSteve and I drove down to Chepstow, across the river Severn in Wales, and met my sister K at a supermarket car park. As we we were early, I bought  a bunch of bananas. Then when K turned up with another bunch of bananas, we tipped the vacuum cleaner and boxing gloves out of her car into ours, packed my stuff into the gaps, then K and I drove to the racecourse car park, and CleanSteve drove home. 

From the racecourse we took a bus to the parkland, and from there we stumbled, fully loaded, to the family camping area. We got our tents up in record time, despite K's pop up tent nearly blowing away when she popped it out of the bag! Fortunately someone else caught it. Breezy weather didn't hinder us much, but it did make for a cold first night, in my case huddled at the bottom of my mummy-style sleeping bag. 

Can't tell you how good it feels to be back at the Green Gathering festival after a gap of two years. The music is good, the food is excellent, and the atmosphere is very, very laid-back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.