analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Class of 1959 Memorial Chapel. Leitz Elmar 5cm

I am fortunate to have some really interesting and curious-minded people come to me as patients.  I like to draw them out when possible, partly to distract them from the general unpleasantness of having to be in a medical facility.  But also, their lives and the accompanying stories are what engages me about my job as an X-Ray tech.  About a month ago, a gentleman came to visit my exam room.  Somehow, this time the keyword was "harpsichord". He said, Did you know that there's a Memorial Chapel to the Class of 1959 next to the Business School in Allston?  There's a harpsichord in there and they give concerts.  The place is less than a mile from our home, so this morning, on the way to the supermarket, I went to investigate.  Here is a link to the Wiki article for the history and background to the building.  I was fascinated by the very unusual clock that resides in the slim tower shown in the Extra.  The gold-leafed sphere moves up and down the glass tower, reaching its zenith at midday.  The lines on the tower indicate the hours as the sphere moves on its vertical cycle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.