Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Back home

G's return to Dubai via Doha had a hiccup in the middle of the night. She messaged me to say that because the flight took off late from Edinburgh, she missed the connecting flight to Dubai. (That plane took off, leaving loads of people behind, disrupting their onward travel plans). She managed to get on a flight to Sharjah but had a 5-hour wait. I found myself searching for an airport lounge at 4 AM, but she didn't use one.

I had a 9 AM meeting for which I was ready and waiting, but the person who set it up never showed up! Never mind, it gave me the opportunity to catch up with other things and even troubleshoot a problem. I had to leave after an hour as driving to Sharjah is unpredictable at the best of times.

I made it to the airport and didn't have long to wait before G emerged, minus her checked bag. That is still in Doha. Oh well. She is glad to be home, tired after a night without much sleep.

I took her out for an early dinner to welcome her back and to celebrate the fact that the next few months look more stable for me work-wise. I would have taken her for a drive to help her get used to the new scenery, but she was too tired, so an evening at home where I've been able to catch up with four days of blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.