Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

Home sweet home...

This is a model of my first home. I was born here and lived in this house for the first 18 years of my life.
My bedroom window is on the far right, and many a night I leant out of the window to smoke my No. 6 cigarettes!
I had horses painted on my bedroom wall during my 'horsey' phase and posters of David Bowie, Frank Sinatra and Elvis Presley (go figure!) during my adolescence.
Toby the dog, Solly, Wigan and Mugly the cats, and Pebbles the guinea pig.
I had night terrors and mumps here.
I was tormented (two older brothers and a school bully) and endlessly loved.
I gave this model of our home to my Mum many years ago. Today she gave it back to me for safe keeping, because she knows what it means to me.
My time here made me what I am today.

When you finally go back to your old home, you find it wasn't the old home you missed but your childhood.
Sam Ewing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.