The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Finally, rain!

As I was leaving work, the cleaner warned me of the monsoon outside the surgery. I'd noticed that rain had started falling, but I wasn't prepared for wading ankle-deep around the Immaculate Conception church, or leaping a stream to cross the main road.

Met CleanSteve near GS' garden flat. We'd agreed to take some plants in pots, as she has instructed a friend to dispose of them. The rain was hammering against the windscreen, and us, as we struggled up and down the steps carrying heavy pots. Lightning flickered. My clothes clung to me. 

Somehow, we got home, through biblical scenes of flooding, and I stumbled upstairs and into the bath. Half an hour later, with a cup of tea inside me and the warm water soaking through to my bones, I felt pleasantly sleepy. As if, when the weather broke, the perpetual motion machine inside me broke, too

CleanSteve made supper. I shall watch the third episode of Marriage, and go to bed. Or maybe do that in reverse order. 

Not good news on my friend GS. She has taken a turn for the worse, and the WhatsApp group run by her daughter has gone quiet, for the time being.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.