Have Wheels, Will Travel.

Discombobulated- almost an onomatopoeic description of how I felt this morning.

It sounded like a pleasant exercise for His Lordship and I to walk to Morningside for food shopping. Sometimes the local shop is found lacking in what ordinary non- students like to eat.

What we hadn't banked on was a persistent nippy west wind gusting to 35 mph blowing into our faces as we trudged uphill over the Meadows and Bruntsfield Links. It all seemed unusually tiring so that I arrived in Morningside with streaming eyes, fury at this never ending harsh spring, and a hairstyle all of my own.
I was glad to escape into a cafe and warm up with a strong cup of coffee.

His Lordship had to see a man about a dog and departed leaving me to shop and blip. As I left the shop with a loaded shopping bag and my rucksack slung over one shoulder in readiness for catching the bus home, I spied a workman's thick brown rubber glove lying in the middle of the pavement, looking for all the world as though there was a hand still in it. Regardless of the stares of passers by, I bent down to blip it , as you do if desperate enough, and my rucksack fell off knocking the hand that held the camera. Twice it happened until I gave in to the dynamics of the situation and shunted the bags far enough away to get a clear view. In the event it wasn't worth the effort.

To compound my discombobulation, the only heavy shower of the day so far arrived as I got off the bus. It lasted just long enough to see me home.

Make of this blip of desperation what you will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.