Living my dream

By Mima

Dripping

No, not the weather for a change. We have sun today, for which Bean is grateful. She has been enjoying dog heaven this morning: the stove AND the sun AND a comfy foam bed. See the extra.

I digress: the lemon bush is dripping with both fruit and new flowers. I am delighted with its progress over winter. It seems to have survived all the frosts so far with ease, probably because it is growing against the new cabin in full sun and sheltered by the veranda roof. 

Three weeks ago I removed four fully-grown fruit and used them in a lemon drizzle cake (what else?). I may need some additional lemon-based recipes in due course when this lot are mature. They are little bigger than pingpong balls at the moment.

It is three years since I planted it and it is my first successful attempt to grow lemons. But it has taken all this time to get established. We may be on the edge of good lemon-growing conditions here in inland North Otago. Nevertheless my dream is to have a huge bushy tree from which I can pick its dripping fruit at will. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.