ThompsonTwin

By ThompsonTwin

George

I've known George for years, he is a watercolour artist and before he retired he was a textile designer. I took him to see the Cotton: Global Threads exhibition at the Whitworth last year and it was fascinating to have a commentary for the historical section from a professional who was working at the time (well, the 20th century bits anyway). At one point he designed for the African market, apparently alot of what we now think of as traditional African fabric designs were originally done in Manchester! You can hear him talking about setting up his own design studio here.

He had afew ideas about how he wanted to be portrayed and I would have liked to blip one of him in his statement trilby, as he always wears it on his daily constitutionals. I thought including one of his paintings and an exhibition poster would make an equally appropriate shot though. It's a shame he didn't smile more, it was fun taking this and talking about art.

Anyway, I am so pleased I was able to take his picture today as this is my 100th blip and George is 100 too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.