The Bridge

I was speaking in Dumfries this afternoon,  and the final venue selected by Emma Harper. one of the local MSPs,   was "The Bridge" a Council owned  learning hub in the north of the town.

I remember being involved in discussions about this when I was Education Secretary, but in the end it didn't open until 2019.   

I also had an office in the town between 2008 and 2011 when I was a South of Scotland Regional MSP so driving down and back brought back a few memories of that period as well as of visiting my parents in Kirkcudbright right up until my mother's death in 2001.   However I don't think I have been in the town since the last week of the December 2019 election campaign. 

Today's meeting was well attended and very positive, so all in all a good day, if one that required  rather a long round trip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.