Flossmo

By Flossmo

Choose thumbnail

Another day comes and goes. I spent most of it in the studio in Guildford preparing for a new linoprint. I made a registration board, cut and sanded the lino and sorted out some paper; tedious work but good to get it done. It was quite warm in the studio even with the windows open and ceiling fans turning.

But when it came time to leave I couldn't find my car keys. I checked through my bag... twice. Nothing. I looked everywhere in the studio. Nothing. The ladies,. Nothing. I started getting a bit panicky, perhaps someone had lifted them when I wasn't looking, perhaps someone had stolen the car (come on, a twelve year old Skoda?) I went out to check. It was still where I'd left it so I checked to see if I'd left the keys in the ignition. No, it was locked. I asked at the front desk. No, again. I went back to the studio and sat puzzling it out.

Fortunately my good friend Jule then arrived and I explained my quandary. 'You weren't wearing a jacket when you came in by any chance?' she asked. Straight away the penny dropped. It had been raining torrentially when I arrived in the morning and I had, indeed, been wearing a rain coat... which I had hung on a peg where the aprons are kept... and where it still was... with my car keys in the pocket. All's well that end's well as the bard would say. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.