Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Sun & Steam!

I woke up to this beautiful sunrise this morning! It’s not the view from my pitch but I only had to walk a few metres to see it - a short little walk just before 7.

I relaxed all day at the campsite, but this afternoon I took a walk down to the railway - also not far from where I am. This is the Swanage Railway - a heritage railway line running between Swanage and Corfe Castle and on to Norden. The line was closed by the government in 1972 and taken over by volunteers in 1976 - what is now the Swanage Railway Trust. It took 7 weeks to demolish and 30 years to rebuild. A more detailed history can be read here.

I’d brought a sandwich with me and ate it on the platform while I waited for two trains to come in. The first one was a diesel engine from Swanage, followed by a steam engine from Corfe Castle. Hopefully we’ll be riding the train later this weekend!

By late afternoon my friend arrived and was able to pitch her caravan across from mine. Strategically chosen so that we have morning sun by me and afternoon sun by her, and a choice of shade if it gets too hot! I made dinner while she set up and later went on a short walk to watch the sunset. Autumn has definitely set in - it’s really chilly as soon as the sun goes down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.