Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Bellingham Show

180 years since the first show and Bellingham Show was back this year. It's a good show, although some people don't like the more touristy parts of it.

The morning dawned misty but it was soon clear, bright and far too sunny. After the first hour, I was tempted to go home because it was so hard to take any decent images.

Gradually my eye worked better and then a large black cloud came over, obscuring the sun. That was great. It did not last too long but it was enough to allow more comfortable photography.

My main image is from the one of the sheep classes. I loved the expression on the face of this sheep. 

The first extra is one of the dare devil BMX riders, turning a somersault before landing on a steep ramp down. (I fear that the young men who pursue this "sport" will need joint replacements at a young age.) The display was spectacular.

The second extra was part of a hilarious competition between local hunts. Each team had a quad bike, which had to be ridden between traffic cones in a chicane. The rider had to don overalls, ride to another point, run to the first horse and hand over a baton (horse whip). The horses had a jumping course to complete.

You can see one of the riders taking a compulsory drink, which spilled all over her, very little going in her mouth. I just loved the photobomber.

I had a photo pass today although they have professional photographers to photograph winning contestants and animals. This gave me the confidence to go in to the rings and gave me a much better view than usual.

I am VERY TIRED!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.