(240) Not Humerus

And I definitely wasn't laughing. After fours out on the mountain bike on all sorts of terrain, without incident, I managed to come to grief 5 minutes from my front door, on level tarmac. As I negotiated a slightly narrow path I caught my handlebar on a builder's bag of gravel and this dumped me straight on the ground. It was a heavy fall and my arm took much of the impact but I'm otherwise unscathed. Having picked myself off the ground the first thing I checked was the bike but it's completely OK as I broke its fall. A visit to A&E revealed that I have a fractured radial bone in my right arm but the X-ray looks as if the injury will heal by itself, unless the referral to the Fracture Clinic leads to a different conclusion. Anticipated recovery time is 3-6 weeks and clearly I won't be getting any more bike miles in for a while. Or DIY, or driving, or using a DSLR, or piloting an aircraft, or conducting the London Symphony Orchestra, amongst other things. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.