Hunterston

I took the wee ferry from Largs over to Cumbrae this morning to visit the Marine Station at Millport which London University operates and from which it now wishes to withdraw. I have been working hard with a range of bodies and the local MSP , Kenny Gibson, to find a way forward and today was a postponed meeting with the staff to talk about their ideas and to answer their questions about what is being done to help and what might happen going forward - a discussion which included news of some very positive collaboration between North Ayrshire Council, HIE and the local community.

I then went back to Largs and met some opposition politicians on whom I tried to impress the need for some positive collaboration across politics too, in order to try and get the best outcomes (an issue which I also stressed with the local paper when I saw them before I got on the ferry). It was , overall, a good discussion - in the end.

The sun shone all the time I was there and this is the view of Hunterston (the deep water port and the nuclear power stations) from the ferry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.