This is the day

By wrencottage

No excuse ...

Despite knowing all summer that I would need to have a lot of cards made by the beginning of September so that I could fill up the stand in the Atrium café when it re-opens after the summer break, I seem to be practising my brinkmanship skills once again. 

As a result I was up at 6.15 this morning and then, after making us both a cup of tea, I beetled off to my craft room to get going on the production line before breakfast. At the moment I’m majoring on cards which have photos on because I can print them off fairly quickly. Hand made ones with die cuts, ribbons and other embellishments take much longer, as do printed designs made from artwork which I've bought online – I have to spend a long time creating original designs from the artwork (and learning the intricacies of the software on the hoof as well) and at the moment quantity is the priority, so there's no time for faffing! This is just one of two small stands that I have at home; the other one contains cards with a Christian theme, which of course are popular with church family members. 

It may sound as though I have made plenty of cards, but the card stand in the Atrium is huge, with twelve shelves to fill, all twice the width of this one! Fortunately two other ladies make cards as well, and between us we keep the stand filled throughout the year, which keeps us out of mischief and raises a lot of money for charity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.