MD_101

By MD_101

Wormwood

Meet Wormwood. He is the largest of my garden gargoyles (well, technically he's a grotesque but I like the alliteration of garden gargoyles) at just over 2 feet tall. He guards the top of the path in the back garden, looking down towards the house... A boy did I know it when I carried him there!

Wormwood was given to me about 18 months ago by a friend the next street over. She'd had him in her garden for over 30 years, but to use her words was "thoroughly sick of the sight of him" and knew that I had admired him for some time. I do have a weakness for gargoyles, grotesques etc in architecture and definitely in my garden. I love the patina that the 30 odd years has given him... A sort of lichen liver spot.

When he came to me he wasn't known as Wormwood, I think she used more choice descriptions when referring to him haha!

One of these days I'll get a shot of him when Ruddock our resident Robin sits on his head and sings his heart out, laying claim to all he sees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.