RRS Discovery

This is a barque-rigged auxiliary steamship built for Antarctic research.
Launched in 1901, she was the last traditional wooden three-masted ship to be built in the UK. Her first mission was the British National Antarctic Expedition carrying Robert Falcon Scott and Ernest Shackleton on their first, and highly successful, journey to the Antarctic, known as the Discovery Expedition. (Wikipedia).
It was built in Dundee and is now owned by Dundee Heritage Trust and berthed in Dundee.

I took this shot with my phone when I was stopped at traffic lights in Dundee this evening after spending the day helping Debbie decorate her new house. We got lots done so we’re both satisfied.

I’m not long home so will catch up with everyone’s blips tomorrow.
I think I will sleep well tonight - feeling very tired, but happy.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.