Day of variation

Last week I was asked to help in two completely different contexts where my skills could be useful. My old  colleague Thomas asked me to sit in as a technician at a couple of performances when their regular tech had to do other things. Thomas and two others, also good friends of mine, are touring with a play about the work of a Swedish poet and playwright called Kristina Lugn, who also was a member of The Swedish Academy. I love her work and my friends has made a really good play. I'm glad I can help them out, I've never done this type of thing on a professional level before and it's really interesting. I had bought a ticket to see the play on Wednesday, now I will run the show, lighting and sound, instead. In the first extra we've just started setting the stage. More on that tomorrow. Wish me luck.

The other call was from my friend Olof, who I do our performance about Leonard Cohens music with. He is, in his professional life, head of the councils music school for children in Kalmar and one of his guitar-teachers is on sick leave for September so I promised to help out on Monday afternoons. I haven't taught children in about fifteen years but it was fun meeting them and to work together. We seem to get along really well. I'm not at all used to a lesson-length of only twenty minutes though and I will have problems holding the time frame, normally my lessons are at least an hour. The extra is my room in the school, part of the lunch-room, not very inspiring but the kids are used to it.

I spent my lunch at the beach, bringing my sandwiches and coffee to the longest jetty in Kalmar, to get a nice view. You can just about see my island at the horizon. During the summer, this place is crowded but bathing season seems to be over for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.