Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Dot.Com

The title might be mysterious but if you are a birder you will have found out by now that there are a pair of dotterels on the Common. 

I personally think this is a male but am willing to compromise. Possibly. 

Sitting in the grass which was covered in rabbit and sheep droppings, not to say very wet too, this is how I got down and very dirty. 

Having got the heads up that the dotterels were still there on Cleeve Common I jumped out of bed wanting to find them which honestly was the first time this summer I've wanted to do that with all that has happened. Parked the car in the car park and started the walk - it's a big Common and saw in the distance a few people standing around, however much nearer on a parallel path there was a man, standing still with phone and bins.
I got to him after a bit, pacing it and paused asking. 'Excuse me...?' Looking up from his phone and intercepting what I was about to say he said, 'They are here." AND I looked. So they were but as I said to him, I would never ever have found them without you! Not in a million years. 

So I have little dot.com in the Extra who is paler and less colourful but was far more active for the camera, well let's say she stretched wing that is all,   but I liked this shot - out of 300.

Been down to Swindon this afternoon to replace my camera. The antics on the common from it were frustrating. i was wanting it to react and it was being pedantic so traded it in. Then oh goodness they started on the sell with the mirrorless ...

Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.