Our Queen

Although we have seen the Queen fading in recent months, it was still a shock to hear that she had died.  I was born just a few weeks before her coronation in 1953 so like most people she is the only monarch I have ever known.  I remember I had a coronation plate and mug but what happened to them I have no idea.  

This lovely photo of her is from 1933 and comes from a book I was given when I was a little girl of about eight.  It shows her with her mother and sister Margaret.  The books is called 'Our King And Queen and The Royal Princesses' and was published in 1936 and I have kept it for over sixty years.

I find it amazing that she was still working until two days before she died.  I respected her and found her sense of duty amazing.

The end of era.  

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.