First Chance To Sing ...

... God Save The King.

It was very poignant watching The Queen's coffin leaving Balmoral this morning. I was interested that the flowers were from the Balmoral estate and that they were all white. (The most respected florist, of those who we used to supply, always sent all white tributes when they were from her.) Dahlias were included, which when I was younger were considered to be the height of bad taste. That all changed when the likes of Bishop of Llandaff became popular.

The BBC was describing the hearse and the following vehicles as a convoy this morning. I was glad to hear cortege used later in the day. How touching it was to see all the crowds paying their respects along The Royal Mile. What a wonderful city Edinburgh is. I visited once when I was a child on a coach tour with my granny and had a sort of half recollection of the architecture and those tall buildings as I watched the TV.

Ollie dog and I went to The Proclamation in Epping. It's all change there. The car park which I have used in the past is being developed and the Registry Office where MrQ and I were married has been demolished. We arrived at the Council offices with half an hour to spare and got a prime spot as there was hardly anyone else around. A small crowd did eventually form and it was moving giving three cheers for Charles III and singing God Save The King for the first time in public. A woman from the Council handed out slips on which were the words of the first verse of The National Anthem. :) The Union flag was hoisted before the ceremony and returned to half-mast afterwards.

I enjoyed talking to the women either side of us. One had been to Buckingham Palace yesterday and intended to go again. The other was a proper German shepherd lover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.