Binge - September

The Vision - Heaven

A new gig at Binge with the Sensualism crew. The night was a blast and Monami (above) was clearly the star of the show. Check out her tech house mixes here: DJ Monami - MixCloud Account

I spent quite a lot of time building a set list (over a week and a half) and formatting files to make sure they can be used for the Pioneer CDJ-2000 NX2s, a wicked industry standard CD player for clubs. I made sure I read up about the features and downloaded programs so I can make the most out of my 1 hour set.

Hard work pays off. I was nervous as hell before playing, I haven’t felt like this for 9 years! I guess it’s because I was trying a different approach and out of my comfort zone of not using serato and my PC. I was making sure that this “DJ Discipline” I’ve been drilling was going to pay off. I was connected to the music and the people and as soon as I dropped the third track, after the initial transition song from Monami, I was completely in my element. Dropped Dig Deep by Low Steppa and Saison then broke into Beyoncé’s Break My Soul (Queens Edit), shifting mood and flavour (tech sounding bangers into my zone of house) then started flying with The Vision’s Heaven. From there m, I had the crowd (or at least within the immediate 2-3 meter radius, I felt) under the spell. Dancing, singing and high fives. I couldn’t hold back.

I haven’t felt this good for ages. So lucky to be part of this crew and this opportunity to DJ and work a crowd. Hard work pays off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.