A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Expressive Drawing

I have been a little distracted of late. Apart from my trip to Loch Ness I have been busy setting up the Arts & Craft regular meeting at the local Men's Shed. This has inspired me to resurrect a number of my old hobbies.

Stained glass has been one of these and now sketching has joined the mix.

I have taken up an online course on expressive architectural sketching using colour marker pens. I saw the work by the tutor on social media and found out he had an excellent tutorial available. 

My Blip is the first stage of part of the course, a black and white sketch. The whole idea of his style of drawing is not to be restricted to real form but to play with it, give buildings and objects character. 

The next step is to learn how to use colour marker pens to bring the sketches alive. Marker pens are new to me but he shows how to use them to great effect. I will post the result once I have been brave enough to put marker to paper!

The hut I have drawn was on the shore of Loch Ness. I'm not sure why or how long it has been there but my guessing it was a Nessie look-out post... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.