Why I'll always be a Slade fan.

5 years ago I made a short film for a children's charity.
It was to be played at large functions and posh dinners where
people could be persuaded to part with wads of cash.
I was a Slade fan when all my friends were into the
Bay City Rollers. I just loved them.
When I was thinking of what track to use, I could only think
of Slade's How does it feel?
'How does It feel?' is one of those songs that can make
me burst into tears at the drop of a mirrored top hat.
I knew it would work on the film. But we had no money, not a bean.
But I was adamant that this track would milk every last drop of sympathy and therefore get lots of money for the charity.
The producer called Slade's people. We waited.

Something wonderful happened.
They gave us the track for nothing. For 5 years.
How bloody lovely were they?
And I was right, that film made lots of money.
That deal runs out tonight.

But I will be a Slade fan forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.