misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Akebia-Five-lobed leaves

This vine has been clamoring up this trellis for 2 years now. This will be the first time it blooms. The small clusters of flowers are going to turn deep maroon and the entire vine will smell like chocolate before too long. I saw one or I should say smelled one growing in a friend's garden years ago and knew I had to have one. The one I saw must have be running about 20-30 feet horizontally along a trellis hanging over the upper windows of the house. I have a strong trellis in front of a window at my workroom. It is a full south with a hot summer exposure. So, I hope this gives pleasantly fragrant shade.
I was surprised to see how hardy the vine is. All during the very cold winter the leaves remained green & soft. Or most of them did. You can see one or two larger leaves I left on to show how much little frost it got. As soon as the weather got above 0ºC it began growing more leaves and flower buds. The flowers will be the maroon shade of the vine.
Soon I will blip it again to show how the flowers look when opened. The fragrance you'll just have to imagine. Of course, you probably grow this vine there where you are too? I just go on and on about things I love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.