... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Tate Britain: Cornelia Parker

More explosive in large
Extras: 
Thirty Pieces of Silver
Perpetual Canon
Island
Back blip

I met a friend at Tate Britain to attend the Cornelia Parker exhibition.
I went in knowing nothing (had I even heard of Cornelia Parker?), and found it absolutely wonderful! The exhibition was full of wit, full of subtle allusions and observations (on our planet, humanity, society, and polity), and both fascinating and powerful... 
Highlights included the installations "Cold Dark Matter: An Exploded View" (a typical garden shed, exploded by the military, then re-constructed and suspended 'mid-explosion' for the exhibition), 'Thirty Pieces of Silver', 'Perpetual Canon', and 'Island' (see extras), but the small works, pieces, collections, and experiments were creative, fascinating, oblique, and acerbic. I giggled a lot, was wide-eyed even more, and was presented with questions I wouldn't even think to ask, and artistic interpretations and responses that raise yet more questions for my mind to mull over...

Others here (or right from Tate dome)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.