Lines from my teenage self

My Dad brought the first Spirograph home around 1969 because it appealed to his mathematical brain, and I loved it. I was neat and dextrous and the patterns appealed hugely to me, with just the right combination of prettiness and geometry. After the initial experimentation, I worked systematically through all the different sized wheels and frames, exploring their possibilities, and filled sheet after sheet with circular designs. When the Super Spirograph appeared in 1971, with additional racks, end pieces and bars offering a vastly increased range of shapes and patterns in a big, purple box, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. I'm not sure if it was my eleventh birthday present or my "big" Christmas gift that year, but it absorbed and amused me for hours, weeks and months. I found it when I cleared a lot of the boxes accumulated over several decades of a family's life from the loft of our former family home, and brought it back with me dreaming of playing with it again. It's still in immaculate condition, with only the exhausted pens missing, and twelve years later I still haven't got round to trying. However, under the tray of wheels and racks I found a small pile of just a few of my creations, intricate meshes of curved lines creating a huge variety of shapes; so here, for Abstract Thursday's lines theme, are some colourful lines from my teenage self. Thank you Ingeborg - it was fun to get these out again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.