Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Macro with a 400mm

Sometimes using a long telephoto can provide reasonable results with small animals.  It provides the opportunity to shoot from further away, which reduces the chance of disturbing in this case the butterfly, as it collects nectar.

I'd had the lens on the camera from this morning, when I took the shot in  extras of the first stag I've seen during the rut this year.  He was roaring away and had a group of 5 or 6 females with him.  He's only an 8 pointer, which is quite young to be in with a chance but he is the most mature stag I've seen so far this autumn.  Time will tell whether the older stags are still to join; in the back of my mind I wonder whether the gamekeeper may have been thinning out the herd?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.